Sunday 18th February 2024

Voting starts for electing new leadership in NC Province 2

Published on : 23 December, 2021 3:35 pm

Janakpur: Voting has started from 10 am today for electing a new leadership of the Nepali Congress Province 2. Although the voting was said to start from 8 am, it commenced two hours later due to the delay in technical preparations, the NC Election Committee coordinator Prahlad Gautam said.

The NC Province 2 Committee presidential candidates Krishna Yadav and Ram Saroj Yadav inaugurated the voting by casting the first ballot. The voting that is taking place at Gopal Dharmashala, Janakpurdham will continue until 4 pm today. The voting was scheduled for Wednesday but was postponed until today citing delay in printing the ballot papers. The party establishment side and the Koirala-Nidhi side are contesting the election along with their panels. Nepali Congress Rautahat district president Krishna Yadav is standing from the establishment side while NC Province 2 parliamentary party leader Ram Saroj Yadav from the Koirala-Nidhi side.

One hundred and seventy four candidates are vying for total 72 posts. Of the 175 candidates, five have been elected unopposed while six have withdrawn their candidacies. Two thousand voters from 64 provincial election constituencies of eight districts of the province are participating in the election.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comment here !