Thursday 29th February 2024

Nepal Super League 2022

Published on : 25 March, 2022 1:27 pm

Nepal Super League (NSL) is the country’s first franchise based league with several top flight teams participating as well. The management, Nepal Sports and Events Management (NSEM) has added 3 new teams for the upcoming season along with the 7 teams that participated in the previous season. The additional three franchises are reported to be Jhapa FC- owned by Bikram Thapa; Sporting Ilam De Mechi- owned by Suhang Nembang and Piyush Neupane; and Birgunj United FC- owned by Arbindra Amatya and Arbind Baral. The team that was able to lift the first ever NSL trophy and are coming as the title defender in the upcoming season are Kathmandu Rayzrs, that beat Dhangadhi FC by one goal to nill in the final on May 15th, 2021.

Unlike last year, the NSL is reported to be hosted at both Pokhara Stadium and Dasharath Stadium, Kathmandu. Last year, the league was held only in Kathmandu’s international Dasharath Stadium with 15,000 audience capacity. This time audience and players have the opportunity to enjoy their favorite teams play in two different cities.

Another mouth watering update that has come up for the second season of the NSL is that the winning price for the winning team has been doubled! This means that the winners will be getting a total of 70 lakhs rupees as compared to last year’s 35 lakhs. The auction for the season was held on March 4th, here in Kathmandu, and the 10 teams will be competing against each other from the month of April.           

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comment here !