Monday 26th February 2024

NC 14th General Convention: Leaders and cadres busy seeking votes

Published on : 12 December, 2021 1:35 pm

The Nepali Congress (NC) cadres are currently busy soliciting votes for their leaders to win the election at the 14th General Convention.

Leaders and cadres have been busy since morning to seek votes for their leader in Padmodaya Road and Bhrikuti Mandap. They are asking for votes by displaying banners, statues and audio materials of the leader. Crowds have gathered around Bhrikuti Mandap area with the cadres seeking votes. Similarly, leaders are found to have given priority to the hoarding board to get votes in his favor.

Candidate’s hoarding boards have been placed on various major roads of Kathmandu and up to the hotels where the delegates are staying. Similarly, they are making hats, t-shirts, jackets, water bottles, pens and other materials in the name of their leader. Incumbent President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, Deputy President Bimalendra Nidhi, Former General Secretary Prakash Man Singh, Central Member Dr Shekhar Koirala, Central Member Kalyan Kumar Gurung and General Convention Representative Yubaraj Neupane have filed nominations for the post of the party President. Presidential candidates Deuba and Dr Koirala have proposed a panel in all the elected post while Nidhi, Singh, Gurung and Neupane have not formed a full panel. The deadline for withdrawal of nomination papers is 11 am today while final list of candidates will be published at 12:15 pm and voting will be held from 8 am on November 13, said election committee coordinator Gopal Krishna Ghimire. Voting will take place at Bhrikuti Mandap and Rastriya Sabha Griha.

There will be 29 types of ballot papers in the polling and ballot papers of different sizes and colors will be arranged according to the number of candidates and posts. Though discussions were held in the General Convention on the use of electronic voting machine, voting will be done on paper ballot paper.

Voting will take place to elect one chairperson, two deputy chairpersons, two general secretaries, eight joint general secretaries and eight joint general secretaries from among the office bearers of the Congress Central Working Committee. The treasurer will be elected from among the elected central members. A vote will also take place for the central members in various categories.

Tags: , , ,

Comment here !