Thursday 29th February 2024

Pulsar Sports Award: Gaurika and Mandekaji best athlete

Published on : 13 January, 2021 3:38 pm

Kathmandu : Swimmer Gaurika Singh and Karate player Mandekaji Shrestha have been announced the best female and male athlete of the year respectively. The title was awarded at the NSJF Pulsar Sports Award 2076 presented on Tuesday.

They won the title in evaluation of their performance in the year 2076 BS. Gaurika had won four gold, two silver and three bronze medals in the 13th South Asian Games held in Nepal. Likewise, Mandekaji had also won two gold medals in the 13th SAG.

Likewise, the Nepali national women’s volley ball team has been announced the best team of the year. The Nepali team had won the first AVC women’s senior zone volley ball tournament held in Bangladesh in the reference year. The team had also won a historical silver medal in the 13th SAG.

Arun Shahi, the captain of Nepal’s women’s volley ball team won the ‘people’s choice award’ selected by popular vote.
Likewise, Golf player Subas Tamang won the best youth athlete award. He had won two gold medals in the 13th SAG.

Chief coach of Taekwando Nabin Kumar Shrestha was adjudged the best coach of the year. Table tennis players Geeta Chettri and Sijarin Shaha were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Santoshi Shrestha of athletic and Ayasha Shakya of Taekwando won the special award for the year.

In para-athletics, wheelchair basket ball and cricket player Digam Singh Chemjong was honoured.
The prizes are presented by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum. The award is presented every year on July 2 on World Sports Journalists Day, but was postponed due to the Corona Virus this year.

Sponsored by Hansaraj Hulaschand and Company, the best male and female athletes, best coach and best youth athlete received a Pulsar motorcycle each. Other winners received Rs. 50,000 in cash each.
The event was held in a semi-virtual manner at the Karate hall in Satdobato, Lalitpur.
-Bikram Giri

Comment here !