Sunday 14th April 2024

T-Burger Lalitpur wins veterans football title

Published on : 26 January, 2020 9:58 am

The T-Burger Veterans Lalitpur has won the 9th Veterans 8-a-side international football tournament. It defeated the home team ABC Veterans Pokhara 2-1 to clinch the title.

Jiyaram Bhujel scored both the goals for the winning team while Bijaya Gurung of ABC Pokhara scored one for this team. Bhujel was also declared the man of the match. Along with the winner’s trophy, Lalitpur also won a cash prize of Rs. 111,111. Runners up Pokhara walked home with Rs. 55,555. Gandaki State Minister for Financial Affairs and Planning Kiran Gurung and other guests gave away the prizes.

Altogether 28 teams including two from neighbouring India had taken part in the tournament. Footballers between 40 to 65 years are eligible to play in the tournament organized with the objective of promoting respect towards senior athletes and making the new generation aware about sports and health.

Comment here !